Welcome to Weekend Warriordom


Mt. Shasta (14,179 feet), the second tallest Cascade Volcano... now in my backyard!

February was one wild month… I don’t think I have ever had anything so intense and difficult to plan. I was unemployed from right before Thanksgiving thru January and throughout that time I sent out nearly 100 job applications. For most of December and the first part of January I was living the ski bum’s dream. No job, a free ski pass, and a steady stream of Ramen noodles let me ski to my hearts content… until rent was due. Then I couldn’t afford gas to get to the ski area, I needed a job… and fast. I started looking in the Denver area and quickly got a job at The Wilderness Exchange and not two hours after accepting that position I got a call from California. A real job, performing work I spent seven years at school for, I couldn’t pass it up. I called The Wilderness Exchange, had a week to move out and drive three days in a moving truck to Northern California.

My new place of residency is Redding, CA, tucked in at the very northern end of the Central Valley. This town is much bigger than anywhere I have ever lived and I’m adjusting. Luckily there are plenty of recreational opportunities here, fly fishing, hiking, and mountain biking are all within 20 minutes of town. There are also some epic backcountry ski zones within 2 hrs including two Cascade Volcanos.

This weekend I finally got out and skied the epic backcountry skiing on nearby Mount Shasta (14, 179).

The Trinity Alps, my new hometown is nestled at the foothills of these mountains.

Mount Shasta in the mist

On Saturday and Sunday (My new job is a good ol’ 9 to 5’er) I skinned up what is locally known as Green Butte, to get oriented and check the options out. On Saturday the weather was beautiful just until I hit treeline. Then Mt. Shasta’s quickly changing weather put me into a thick fog and I had to ski blindly down to treeline where I spent the rest of the day playing on a natural log jib I found.

Some of the potential skiing terrain on the flanks of Mt. Shasta.

The Trinity Alps in the distance

Sunday’s weather was bluebird and nice out, it was a little breezy and wind loading kept me below treeline. The nice weather however, let me check out the mountaineering potential of the mountain. There are certainly some stout lines to ski that are European in scale. I’m definitely stoked to ski on the upper mountain.

Looking up Avalanche Gulch, it is difficult to grasp the scale of this mountain but I am 5000' feet below the summit.

Touring around the base of Mt. Shasta

Mt. Shasta from the Bunny Flat parking lot.

Leave a Reply

